Búsqueda alfabética
Search by Word

Search by Topic

Glossary of Terms >


Term Mountain Range

Succession of mountains linked to one another (<90 km). The term encompasses parallel ranges, plateaus, valleys and intermountain basins.

The Dominican Republic, which has an extensive mountain system, has three main ranges: the Cordillera Central, the Cordillera Septentrional and the Cordillera Oriental.

The Cordillera Central originates in Haiti, and it stretches across the entire central region of the island to San Cristóbal. It is the largest mountain system of the island and of the Antilles. Within it is Duarte Peak, at 3.087 meters, the highest peak in the Antilles. The Cordillera Septentrional, which runs parallel to the Cordillera Central, separates the Cibao Valley from the Atlantic Coastal Plain. The Cordillera Oriental, located on the eastern side of the island, is the shortest and lowest of the three.


Additional Information
LinkMountain Ranges of the Dominican Republic
Topic  BiodiversityResources coastal / marineSoil and water